Welcome to Club Sunrise

Welcome to Club Sunrise

Club Sunrise connects youth diagnosed with arthritis and other rheumatic diseases from coast-to-coast in a safe, supportive and fun community. At Club Sunrise, we laugh, play games, craft and sometimes even shed a few tears – all while breaking down barriers, learning different strategies to help better manage living with arthritis and making friends with others going through similar things. 

After registering for this free program, you will be invited by email to a series of fun and interactive sessions taking place about every two months. One month prior to each event, we will email you the details, along with instructions on how to register.  Event details will also be listed on our website. We will be using Google Classroom for some events, so it is best if your child has their own Gmail account to participate.  

These sessions will be hosted virtually via Zoom and could be anything from a dance party to a scavenger hunt! There will be prizes and fun rewards for participating and for completing our post-event surveys. If you don’t have a device or access to the internet, please reach out to us at camp@arthritis.ca and we will do our best to find a way for you to participate. Your one-time registration for Club Sunrise will keep you up-to-date on our activities for as long as you’d like to be (or until you turn 18). If you’d like to take a break from participating at any time, simply email us at camp@arthritis.ca and let us know.  

At Club Sunrise, you will be understood and accepted. We will celebrate you, challenge you and connect you with a supportive community. 

Register to Club Sunrise

FAQ

  • What is Club Sunrise?

    Club Sunrise is an online virtual club that connects Canadian children living with arthritis and other rheumatic diseases from coast-to-coast. Club members can participate in an event every two months, anything from a cooking class to an interactive scavenger hunt.

  • Where does Club Sunrise occur?

    Club Sunrise takes place wherever you are! All you need to participate is an open mind, a willingness to connect with other Club members, access to the internet and a device you can connect to Zoom on.

  • How old must my child be to participate?

    Club Sunrise is designed for youth between the ages of 5-17.

  • Which online platform will you be using for this program? Is the platform secure?

    We will be using Zoom for all Club events. There will be a password created for each event which you will need to join. There will also be a virtual waiting room where you will wait until one of our hosts has confirmed your name is on the registration list and will then let you into the session. Please make sure you log into Zoom with the name you registered with.

    Some events will also use Google Classroom, so we recommend your child has access to a Gmail account.

  • What materials will my child need?

    Club members will need access to a device with a strong internet connection.

  • Does my child have to participate in each event?

    We encourage each Club member to be as engaged in this program as possible, but recognize that sometimes that’s just not possible. In addition to registering for the program, you will need to let us know if you plan to attend each event through a quick registration form so we know who exactly will be joining us.

  • Where can I see a Club schedule?

    We do our best to have Club Sunrise activities occur the last Thursday of the month. In most cases, we will offer three sessions for each event. Our bilingual (French and English) session will occur at 6 p.m. ET (3 p.m. PT, 4 p.m. MT, 5 p.m. CT, 7 p.m. AT, 7:30 p.m. NT) and our second session will occur at 6:30 p.m. MT (5:30 p.m. PT, 7:30 p.m. CT, 8:30 p.m. ET, 9:30 p.m. AT, 10 p.m. NT)

  • Is there a cost to attend?

    The Arthritis Society is grateful to Canadian Tire Jumpstart’s Sport Relief Fund that is enabling us to offer Club Sunrise free of charge this year.

  • What prizes are being offered? How do you earn prizes?

    Prizes will vary depending on each Club Sunrise activity. We will let participants know how prizes are awarded when we announce the event.

  • Why do you need mailing address if the program is online?

    There will be instances where we want to mail you a package with supplies before an event. We may also want to mail you a prize following the event.

Questions? Please email camp@arthritis.ca

Sponsors

Logo of sponsor Jumpstart - Bon départ - Sport Relief Fund Recipient

Logo of sponsor: Westminster College Foundation