Board of Directors

Duncan Mathieson, Chair
Dr. John Di Battista
Andrew Branion
Ingrid Gutzmann
Nancy Hopkins
Jennifer LaPlante, Treasurer
Neal Oswald
Anne-Marie Renaud
Dr. Evelyn Sutton
Rani Turna
Michelle Walsh
Dr. Stephen Weiss

Board Committees

Audit & Finance Committee – Jennifer LaPlante, Chair
Governance and Nominating – Nancy Hopkins, Chair

(as of June 2022)

National Executive

Trish Barbato
President and CEO

Dr. Siân Bevan
Chief Science Officer

Cheryl McClellan
Chief Operating Officer

Jennifer Stewart
Chief Development Officer

The Arthritis Society is proud to have been recognized by the Governance Professionals of Canada in 2021 for Excellence in Risk Management. In 2020, we were recognized with awards for Enterprise Risk and Crisis Management, and Innovation and Resilience in Governance.

Joan Fidler Burrows

“As someone who has lived with rheumatoid arthritis for over 65 years, I know what it's like to live with an “invisible” disease. The Arthritis Society is absolutely vital in helping people understand their disease through printed resources, its website and education programs. It also plays an important role in educating the public and funding research, and I can’t emphasize that enough.”
~ Joan Fidler Burrows, 22-year donor