You Are Here: Home > Researchers

Scientific Committee

Scientific Committee

  • Dr. Mohit KapoorScientific Planning Committee Co-Chair, Professor in the Department of Surgery and the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology at University of Toronto, Co-Director of the Schroeder Arthritis Institute and Senior Scientist at the Krembil Research Institute, Tony and Shari Fell Platinum Chair in Arthritis Research and Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in the mechanisms of joint degradation.

  • Dr. Andrea KnightScientific Planning Committee Co-Chair,
    Staff Physician in the Division of Rheumatology at The Hospital for Sick Children, Associate Scientist at the SickKids Research Institute in the Neurosciences and Mental Health Program, Associate Professor of Paediatrics in the Faculty of Medicine at University of Toronto

  • Dr. Dawn Richards, Scientific Planning Committee Co-Chair Volunteer Vice President of the Canadian Arthritis Patient Alliance; Founder of Five02 Labs; Consultant to CIHR-IMHA (Patient representative)

  • Dr. Tom Appleton, Hospital Chief of Rheumatology at SJHC London, Assistant Professor in the Departments of Medicine and Physiology and Pharmacology and the Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry at Western University, and Scientist at Lawson Health Research Institute and the Children's Health Research Institute

  • Dr. Sian Bevan, Chief Science Officer, Arthritis Society Canada

  • Dr. David Hart, Professor in the Department of Surgery and Faculty of Kinesiology at the University of Calgary, and Member of the McCaig Institute for Bone & Joint Health, Scientific Director of the Alberta Health Services Bone & Joint Health Strategic Clinical Network

  • Dr. Karim Khan, Professor in the Department of Family Practice and School of Kinesiology at University of British Columbia, and Scientific Director of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research-Institute of Musculoskeletal Health and Arthritis [CIHR-IMHA] 

  • Michaela Khan, PhD student in the Motion Analysis and Biofeedback Laboratory, Faculty of Medicine at the University of British Columbia

  • Dr. Carter Thorne, Assistant Professor in the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Toronto, Consultant Staff Member at the Southlake Regional Health Centre in Newmarket, Ontario, Principal Investigator with The Arthritis Program Research Group Inc., Steering and Scientific Committee Member of the Ontario Best Practices Research Initiative.

  • Dr. Jackie Whittaker, Assistant Professor in the Faculty of Medicine at University of British Columbia, Research Scientist at Arthritis Research Canada, and Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research Scholar