You Are Here: Home > About Us > About the Arthritis Society > Governance and Advisory > Integrated Scientific and Medical Advisory Committee
Integrated Scientific and Medical Advisory Committee

Members of the integrated Scientific and Medical Committee (ISMAC) provide expert advice to the Chief Science Officer on strategic directions and priorities for the Arthritis Society's research and information and support tools and resources. ISMAC members provide scientific, clinical, and knowledge translation expertise, as well as consumer perspectives to support best practices in research and information and support tools and resources across the spectrum of research pillars, resource allocation, partnerships, advocacy, and input into the review of the performance of the Arthritis Society's mission impacts.

Hani El-Gabalawy, MD, FRCPC - University of Manitoba


Monique Gignac, PhD - Institute for Work and Health, University of Toronto


Tom Appleton, MD, PhD - Western University

Susa Benseler, MD, PhD - University of Calgary

Carolyn Dittmar, BScPhm - Southlake Regional Health Centre

Maria Fernandes, PhD - Universite Laval

Cathie Hofstetter - Patient Representative

Cheryl Hubley-Kozey, PhD - Dalhousie University

Sarah Ward, MD - St. Michael's Hospital

Linda Li, PT, PhD - University of British Columbia

Raja Rampersaud, MD - University of Toronto

Graeme Reed - Canadian Spondylitis Association

John Di Battista, PhD - McGill University, Arthritis Society National Board of Directors