The Medical Advisory Committee

The Medical Advisory Committee (MAC) is a sub-committee of The Arthritis Society's National Board of Directors. The MAC's role is to advise The Arthritis Society on matters pertaining to the major issues surrounding arthritis care, specifically, but not exclusively –
  • Planning and direction
  • New initiatives
  • Demographics of people with arthritis
  • Health policy, access to care, facilities, manpower, medications, rehabilitation and surgery
  • Clinical Research - visibility, deficiencies, relevance, impact
  • Education - national strategies, under-graduate, graduate, post-graduate, sub-specialty training, primary care givers, arthritis health professionals
  • Liaisons -  media, universities, governments, pharmaceutical industry, Arthritis Centres
  • Ensuring continued close collaboration between the Society and the Canadian Rheumatology Association
  • Allocation of resources
  • Advocacy
  • Timely issues as they arise

Dr. Evelyn Sutton

Chair, Medical Advisory Committee

Dr. Brian Feldman

Former Chair, Medical Advisory Committee

Dr. Brian Feldman (MD, MSc, FRCPC) is a Professor of Pediatrics, Medicine, Health Policy, Management and Evaluation, and the Dalla Lana School of Public Health at the University of Toronto, where he has taught Critical Appraisal, Introduction to Clinical Epidemiology and Advanced Clinical Trials courses for the past 15 years. 

Dr. Angela How

Medical Advisory Committee Member

Dr. Jason McDougall

Medical Advisory Committee Member / Chair, Scientific Advisory Committee

Dr. McDougall is an Associate Professor in the departments of Pharmacology and Anaesthesia at Dalhousie University, Nova Scotia. He holds a PhD from the Institute of Biological & Life Sciences, University of Glasgow, Scotland.

​Dr. Sylvie Ouellette

Medical Advisory Committee Member

Dr. Sylvie Ouellette is a community rheumatologist based at the Moncton Hospital in Moncton, New Brunswick since January 2010. Prior to this, she had worked as a community rheumatologist in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia for 11 years.

Dr. J. Carter Thorne

Medical Advisory Committee Member

Dr. Thorne is an Assistant Professor at the University of Toronto, and is on the Consultant Staff at Southlake Regional Health Centre in Newmarket, Ontario where he is Chief of the Division of Rheumatology and Director of The Arthritis Program.

Dr. Jaime Guzman

Medical Advisory Committee Member

Dr. Guzman is currently a Staff Rheumatologist at BC Children's Hospital in Vancouver, BC and is a Clinical Assistant Professor of Medicine at the University of British Columbia. 

Dr. Janet Pope

Medical Advisory Committee Member

Dr. Pope is a rheumatologist, epidemiologist and professor of medicine.