The Arthritis Society launching month-long campaign for Arthritis Awareness Month

August 28, 2012

4.6 million Canadians living with arthritis

This September, The Arthritis Society is launching a month-long campaign dedicated to educating Canadians about this complex disease that affects 4.6 million Canadians. Throughout September, The Arthritis Society will be hosting numerous activities and programs to increase awareness about arthritis including:

  • Release of Ipsos Reid Omnibus Survey Results:  The Arthritis Society commissioned a survey to research Canadians’ attitudes about joint pain and stigma. The results of the survey will be revealed in a news release on September 5th.
  • Launch of new arthritis website: Canadians with arthritis now have a dependable go-to resource for managing their disease. A new website (www.arthritis.ca), launching on September 5th, offers visitors customized information about their type of illness as well as treatment options with advice from experts. Website visitors are invited to explore the new website and participate in our online scavenger hunt to win prizes! For more details, visit www.arthritis.ca/scavengerhunt.
  • Online Facebook events: The Arthritis Society will hold Facebook events during September, featuring health care experts who will discuss topics such as treatment, nutrition and exercise. Participants will be invited to ask questions and share their experiences with arthritis. For more details, visit www.arthritis.ca/aam
  • “We Have Arthritis” Share Your Photo Contest:  The Arthritis Society is launching a special campaign to raise awareness about the impact of the disease. Participants will be asked to share their photos in order to win a prize. Photos will appear on Flickr, and can be shared on Facebook, Twitter and Tumblr. For more details, visit www.wehavearthritis.ca starting September 5th.
  • Local events and public information forums will take place in communities across Canada.

For more information on what is happening during Arthritis Awareness Month in your area, please call 1-800-321-1433 to reach your provincial Arthritis Society office, or visit our website at www.arthritis.ca

About The Arthritis Society

The Arthritis Society is dedicated to a vision of Living well while creating a future without arthritis. It is Canada’s principal health charity providing education, programs and support to 4.6 million Canadians with arthritis and their loved ones. Since its founding in 1948, The Society has been the largest non-government funder of arthritis research in Canada by investing more than $180 million in projects that have led to breakthroughs in the diagnosis, treatment and care of people with arthritis.

- 30 -

For more information or to arrange an interview in your region, please contact:

National: Natalie Pavlenko; npavlenko@arthritis.ca; tel: 416.979.9227 ext.3348

Atlantic Region: Melanie Nolan; mnolan@ns.arthritis.ca; tel; 902.429.7025 x 222

Quebec: Audrey Lalande alalande@qc.arthritis.ca; tel: 514.846.8840, poste 227

Ontario: Penny Tantakis; ptantakis@on.arthritis.ca; tel: 416-979-7228 ext.3309

Manitoba: Tanya Misseghers; tmisseghers@mb.arthritis.ca; tel: (204) 942-4892 Ext. 229

Saskatchewan: Erin Marchuk; emarchuk@sk.arthritis.ca; tel: 306.352.3312 ext 227

Alberta and NWT: Cindy Stephen; cstephen@ab.arthritis.ca; tel: 403.228.2571 x 2234

British Columbia and Yukon: Mike Leland; mleland@bc.arthritis.ca; tel: 604.714.5554